The first performance

Saturday 27 October 2018 at 6.00pm

St. Michael and All Angels, Headingley, Leeds, LS6 3AW

Reserve your place now !



Rudolf Mauersberger

Wie liegt die Stadt so wüst ('How desolate lies the city')


Matthew Oglesby



Ludwig van Beethoven

Mass in C


Penthos is preceded and succeeded by music from Germany.

Rudolf Mauersberger's fine motet was written in the aftermath of the Allies' destruction of Dresden early in 1945, expressing the grief of 'Rachel weeping for her children', and reminding us of the destruction of war wrought by both sides.

Beethoven's peaceful Mass in C is a cultural reminder that 'that which unites us is far greater than that which divides us' and celebrates forgiveness and the restoration of happier relations.


Joanne Dexter



Lucy Appleyard



David Brown



Quentin Brown


St Peter's Singers

National Festival Orchestra

(leader: Sally Robinson)


Simon Lindley